Before we were yours a novel
(Book Club Set)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Ballantine Books, [2017].
Format
Book Club Set
Edition
First edition.
ISBN
0425284689, 9780425284681, 9780425284704 (pbk.) :, 9781432839123 :
Physical Desc
6 books + discussion guide in canvas bag
Accelerated Reader
IL: UG - BL: 5.1 - AR Pts: 18
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
Book Club Set - Circulation DeskBOOK CLUB SET WINGATEChecked OutDecember 13, 2021
Book Club Set - Circulation DeskBOOK CLUB SET WINGATEChecked OutDecember 13, 2021
Book Club Set - Circulation DeskBOOK CLUB SET WINGATEChecked OutDecember 13, 2021
Book Club Set - Circulation DeskBOOK CLUB SET WINGATEChecked OutDecember 13, 2021
Book Club Set - Circulation DeskBOOK CLUB SET WINGATEChecked OutDecember 13, 2021
Show All Copies

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Syndetics Unbound

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Language
English
Accelerated Reader
UG
Level 5.1, 18 Points

Notes

General Note
Includes large print copy.
Description
"Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis,a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead eitherto devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong"-- Publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Wingate, L. (2017). Before we were yours: a novel (First edition.). Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Wingate, Lisa. 2017. Before We Were Yours: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Wingate, Lisa. Before We Were Yours: A Novel New York: Ballantine Books, 2017.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Wingate, Lisa. Before We Were Yours: A Novel First edition., Ballantine Books, 2017.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.